December 4, 2009

  • Normality

    These two graphs are from one of my last few rides before my crash.  A Thursday morning ride (same ride that Serene Lee crashed) while about four of us including Lost Boy Keiser were trying to pull away from the group.  I remember being a little impatient because no one was working much while Lost Boy was … a little lost.  Finally getting into a rhythm, we hit a bump on the road while heading down Clementi Road area (the section that links into the highway) and we actually passed the area already when we heard the distinct sound of a crash behind so we slowed and some of us stopped while Serene was tended to.  I can’t believe it was only 24 Sept when this happened; it seemed so much longer before even prior to my crash on Oct 3.

    http://sports.groups.yahoo.com/group/longhouse5am/message/16356

    It has been a bad year for me..  between April to June, I thought I was never going to be able to ride at a decent pace again.  My heart was giving me scares I’ve not experienced before, and everything I did (and boy, did I try a lot of things – recovery, more base rides, different diets) didn’t help.  I attributed the problem to be work-related.  I destroyed my body the second half of 2008 while working on a project, drinking loads of caffeine related products, having inhumane working hours, many days lasting 6am till 12am and using Coke and other stuffs to keep pushing myself to complete projects.  Over and over and over again.  It was possibly a withdrawal syndrome but boy, was I glad when things started getting better in July.  I could at least start getting back to riding normally (albeit slowly).  So July was a lot of base training and finally getting in shape in Sept.  And then the Oct crash.

    I remember I was having a good time at the ride, mostly because I was drafting the first part of the ride.  As usual Changi was harder.  But enough to still sprint for the end.  Was riding back with Kit when the freak accident happened.  Almost two months later, I am back trying to train for 2010.

    It is not easy for me to sustain or go above 160bpm normally.  Am hoping to tweak some more of my training this year but it looks like more of the same; the super high heart rate I had for the first two trainings are already going down.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *